### L'INSTITUT CANADIEN DES INGÉNIEURS

ET SES 14 SOCIÉTÉS CONSTITUTIVES

## **EIC NEWS COMMUNIQUÉ**

Office of the President 20 December 2023

The Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC), founded in 1887, is pleased to announce the winning recipients of its 2024 senior engineering awards and fellowship inductees. The senior awards of the EIC are the highest distinctions made by the Institute and are awarded to deserving members of its 14 constituent societies.

Five exceptional professionals are being awarded EIC's 2024 engineering medals in recognition of their outstanding achievements and service to the engineering profession. In addition, a total of 23 outstanding engineers will be inducted as 2024 EIC Fellows for their exceptional contributions to engineering in Canada.

These awards are scheduled to be presented at the EIC Gala Banquet to be held in person at the Hilton Lac-Leamy hotel in Gatineau/Ottawa on Saturday, **20 April 2024**.

We sincerely hope you will be able to join us in person to help celebrate the meritorious winners in style. Seats and sponsorships may now be reserved/purchased online.

The 2024 award winners are listed on the next two pages.

Donna Jean Kilpatrick, *P.Eng.*, *FEIC*, *FCIC* President Engineering Institute of Canada

#### THE EIC FEDERATION / LA FÉDÉRATION de l'ICI













CSME/SCGM





















## 2024 JULIAN C. SMITH Medal (2 recipients)

For achievement in the development of Canada

#### Richard J. Bathurst, CGS

Ph.D., FEIC, FRSC, FCAE, FCSCE Emeritus Professor, Royal Military College, ON

#### Samuel Pierre, IEEE Cda

Ph.D., FEIC, FCAE, O.C., O.Q. Professor, Polytechnique Montreal, QC

#### 2024 K.Y. LO Medal

For significant engineering contributions at the international level

#### Moncef L. Nehdi, CSCE

Ph.D., FEIC, FCAE, FCSCE Professor and Chair, McMaster University, ON

#### 2024 JOHN B. STIRLING Medal

For leadership and distinguished service at the national level

#### D. Jean Hutchinson, CGS

Ph.D., FEIC, FCAE Professor, Queen's University, ON

#### 2024 CPR Engineering Medal

For leadership and distinguished service at the regional/local levels

#### Harry Oussoren, CGS

M.Eng., FEIC, MCGS Founder and President, Insitu Contractors Inc., ON

.../p3

## THE EIC FEDERATION / LA FÉDÉRATION de l'ICI



# To be inducted as 2024 EIC FELLOWS (23 recipients)

For excellence in engineering and services to the profession and society

Nicolas Abatzoglou (CSChE)	Professor, Univ. of Sherbrooke, Sherbrooke, QC
John Bianchini (TAC)	Chairman and CEO, Hatch Ltd, Oakville, ON
Steven L. Bryant (CSChE)	Professor, Univ. of Calgary, Calgary, AB
Ying Chen (CSBE) Prof	essor and Assoc. Dept Head, Univ. of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB
David Anthony Clausi (IEEE Cd	a) Professor, Univ. of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON
Naser El-Sheimy (IEEE Cda)	Professor, Univ. of Calgary, Calgary, AB
Mamadou Fall (CGS)	Professor and Dept Chair, Univ. of Ottawa, Ottawa, ON
Elise Fear (IEEE Cda)	Professor and Assoc. Dept Head, Univ. of Calgary, Calgary, AB
Marcia R. Friesen (CSSE)	Dean, Univ. of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB
Steve Hedberg (CGS)	Chairman and CEO, BGC Engineering Inc., Vancouver, BC
Baochun Li (IEEE Cda)	Professor, Univ. of Toronto, Toronto, ON
Jianbing Li (CSCE) Pr	ofessor, Univ. of Northern British Columbia, Prince George, BC
Zhenguo Lu (IEEE Cda)	Team Lead, National Research Council of Canada, Ottawa, ON
Medhat Moussa (IEEE Cda)	Professor and Dept Head, Univ. of Guelph, Guelph, ON
Thamir (Tom) Murad (IEEE Cda	a) Country Lead (VP), Siemens Mobility, Oakville, ON
J. Suzanne Powell (CGS)	Partner and Director, Thurber Engineering Ltd, Victoria, BC
Carolyn Ren (CSME)	Professor, Univ. of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON
Janaka Ruwanpura (CSCE)	Assoc. VP Research, Univ. of Calgary, Calgary, AB
Ramin Sedaghati (CSME)	Professor, Concordia Univ., Montreal, QC
Ken Skaftfeld (CGS)	Senior Engineer, TREK Geotechnical Inc., Winnipeg, MB
Joao B.P. Soares (CSChE)	Professor, Univ. of Alberta, Edmonton, AB
Vincent Wong (IEEE Cda)	Professor, Univ. of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC
Svetlana Yanushkevich (IEEE C	Cda) Assoc. Dean Research, Univ. of Calgary, Calgary, AB