EIC NEWS COMMUNIQUÉ

Office of the President 15 December 2022

The Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC), founded in 1887, is pleased to announce the winning recipients of its 2023 senior engineering awards and fellowship inductees. The senior awards of the EIC are the highest distinctions made by the Institute and are awarded to deserving members of its 14 constituent societies.

Six exceptional engineers are being awarded EIC's 2023 engineering medals in recognition of their outstanding achievements and service to the engineering profession. In addition, a total of 22 outstanding engineers will be inducted as 2023 EIC Fellows for their exceptional contributions to engineering in Canada.

These 2023 awards are scheduled to be presented along with 2022 awards at the EIC Gala Banquet to be held in person at the Hilton Lac-Leamy hotel in Gatineau/Ottawa on **22 April 2023**. Note that 2020 and 2021 EIC awards will be presented at the same venue on the previous night, i.e., 21 April.

We sincerely hope you will be able to join us in person at one or both of these two much-anticipated Gala events to celebrate these truly outstanding engineers. Gala tickets and sponsorships may now be reserved/purchased online.

The 2023 award winners are listed on the next two pages.

Donna Jean Kilpatrick, *P.Eng., FEIC, FCIC* President Engineering Institute of Canada

.../p2

THE EIC FEDERATION / LA FÉDÉRATION de l'ICI



2023 SIR JOHN KENNEDY Medal

For outstanding service to the profession or noteworthy contributions to the science of engineering

Delwyn Fredlund, CGS

Ph.D., O.C., FEIC, FCAE, P.Eng.
Emeritus Professor, Univ. of Saskatchewan and Senior Geotechnical Specialist, Golder Associates

2023 JULIAN C. SMITH Medal (2 recipients)

For achievement in the development of Canada

Michael W. Carter, IISE Cda Region

Jamal Deen, IEEE Cda

*Ph.D., FEIC, FCAE, FACHS*Professor, University of Toronto, ON

*Ph.D., FEIC, FCAE, FRSC, FIEEE*Distinguished Professor, McMaster Univ., ON

.....

2023 K.Y. LO Medal

For significant engineering contributions at the international level

Jingxu (Jesse) Zhu, CSChE

*Ph.D., FEIC, FCAE, FRSC, FCIC*Distinguished Professor, Western University, London, ON

.....

2023 JOHN B. STIRLING Medal

For leadership and distinguished service at the national level

Jerzy Maciej Floryan, CSME

Ph.D., FEIC, FCAE, FCSME
Professor, Western University, London, ON

2023 CPR Engineering Medal

For leadership and distinguished service at the regional/local levels

Jocelyn Hayley, CGS

*Ph.D., FEIC*Professor and Department Head, University of Calgary, AB

.../p3

THE EIC FEDERATION / LA FÉDÉRATION de l'ICI



To be inducted as 2023 EIC FELLOWS (22 recipients)

For excellence in engineering and services to the profession and society

David Berger (IISE Cda Region)	Criterium Group, Calgary, AB
Pascale Champagne (CSChE)	National Research Council of Canada, Boucherville, QC
Anthony Chan (CMBES)	British Columbia Institute of Technology, Burnaby, BC
Ehab El-Salakawy (CSCE)	University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB
Natalie Enright Jerger (IEEE Cda)	University of Toronto, Toronto, ON
Yang Gao (IEEE Cda)	University of Calgary, Calgary, AB
Henry Leung (IEEE Cda)	University of Calgary, Calgary, AB
Xinyu Liu (CSME/IEEE Cda)	University of Toronto, Toronto, ON
David Mack (CDA)	Klohn Crippen Berger Ltd, Calgary, AB
Venkatesh Meda (CSBE)	University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, SK
Anil Mehrotra (CSChE)	University of Calgary, Calgary, AB
Bill Rosehart (CSSE/IEEE Cda)	University of Calgary, Calgary, AB
Mario Ruel (CGS)	Private Consultant, Ville de Mont Royal, QC
Abdallah Shami (IEEE Cda)	Western University, London, ON
Abdelhamid Tayebi (IEEE Cda)	Lakehead University, Thunder Bay, ON
Velko Tzolov (IEEE Cda)	National Research Council of Canada, Ottawa, ON
Mohammad Nasir Uddin (IEEE Cd	a) Lakehead University, Thunder Bay, ON
Nicholas Vlachopoulos (CGS)	Royal Military College of Canada, Kingston, ON
Gaozhi (George) Xiao (IEEE Cda)	National Research Council of Canada, Ottawa, ON
Chunbao (Charles) Xu (CSChE)	Western University, London, ON
Alfred Yu (IEEE Cda)	University of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON
Baiyu (Helen) Zhang (CSCE)	Memorial University, St-John's, NL