AND ITS 14 CONSTITUENT SOCIETIES

#### L'INSTITUT CANADIEN DES INGÉNIEURS

ET SES 14 SOCIÉTÉS CONSTITUTIVES

# **NEWS COMMUNIQUÉ**

Office of the President 14 December 2021

The Engineering Institute of Canada, founded in 1887, is pleased to announce the winning recipients of its 2022 senior engineering awards and fellowship inductees. The senior awards of the EIC are the highest distinctions made by the Institute and are awarded to deserving members of its 14 constituent societies.

Five truly exceptional engineers are being awarded EIC's 2022 engineering medals in recognition of their outstanding achievements and service to the engineering profession. In addition, 20 outstanding engineers will be inducted as 2022 EIC Fellows for their exceptional contributions to engineering in Canada.

The 2022 awards are scheduled to be presented along with 2021 and 2020 awards at the next EIC Gala/ Banquet which, pandemic circumstances allowing, will be held in person at the Hilton Lac-Leamy hotel in Gatineau/Ottawa on 30 April 2022. Unless this plan is modified, **we sincerely hope you will be able to join us** in person to celebrate these truly outstanding engineers. Gala tickets may now be reserved online.

The 2022 award winners are listed on the next two pages.

Ali Dolatabadi, *Ph.D.*, *FEIC*, *FCSME* President Engineering Institute of Canada

#### THE EIC FEDERATION / LA FÉDÉRATION de l'ICI



## 2022 EIC Awards

\_\_\_\_\_

## 2022 JULIAN C. SMITH Medal (2 recipients)

For achievement in the development of Canada

## Marie Lemay, CSCE

B.Sc., FCAE, FCSSE, P.Eng.
President and CEO, Royal Canadian Mint
Ottawa, ON

### Federico Rosei, IEEE Cda

*Ph.D., FEIC, FCAE, FRSC,*Professor and Scientific Leader, INRS
Montreal, QC

\_\_\_\_\_

#### 2022 K.Y. LO Medal

For significant engineering contributions at the international level

#### Jean-Pierre Tournier, CDA and CGS

*Ph.D., FEIC*Expert Consultant, Hydro-Québec, Saint-Lambert, QC

\_\_\_\_\_

#### 2022 JOHN B. STIRLING Medal

For leadership and distinguished service at the national level

#### Dharma Wijewickreme, CGS

*Ph.D., FEIC, FCAE, FCSCE*Professor, University of British Columbia, Burnaby, BC

.....

#### **2022 CPR Engineering Medal**

For leadership and distinguished service at the regional/local levels

Craig B. Lake, CGS

*Ph.D., FEIC*Professor, Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS

------

# THE EIC FEDERATION / LA FÉDÉRATION de l'ICI



# To be inducted as 2022 EIC FELLOWS (20 recipients)

For excellence in engineering and services to the profession and society

Aimy Bazylak	CSME	University of Toronto, Toronto. ON
Vaughn Betz	IEEE Cda	University of Toronto, Toronto. ON
Robert Boily	IEEE Cda	Inforex Inc., Laval, QC
Lin Cai	IEEE Cda	University of Victoria, Victoria, BC
Aleksander Czekanski	CSME	York University, Toronto, ON
Kevin J. Deluzio	CMBES	Queen's University, Kingston, ON
Brian L. Garrod	TAC	Hatch Ltd, Mississauga, ON
Gordon Huang	CSCE	University of Regina, Regina, SK
Jonathan Li	IEEE Cda	University of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON
Jim Oswell	cgs	Naviq Consulting Inc., Calgary, AB
Mario Ramón Ramírez	CMBES	The Hospital for Sick Children, Oakville, ON
Brian T. Rogers	CDA & CGS	Klohn Crippen Berger Ltd, Calgary, AB
Leo Rothenburg	cgs	University of Waterloo, Waterloo. ON
Rehan Sadiq	CSCE	University of British Columbia, Kelowna, BC
Mehrdad Saif	IEEE Cda	University of Windsor, Windsor. ON
Amanullah Usmani	CNS & CSME	Kinectrics Inc., Burlington, ON
Frank Vecchio	CSCE	University of Toronto, Toronto. ON
Orly Yadid-Pecht	IEEE Cda	University of Calgary, Calgary, AB
Qi-Jun Zhang	IEEE Cda	Carleton University, Ottawa, ON
Ying Zheng	CSChE	Western University, London, ON