NEWS COMMUNIQUÉ

Office of the President 11 December 2019

The Engineering Institute of Canada, founded in 1887, is pleased to announce the winning recipients of its 2020 senior engineering awards and fellowship inductees. The senior awards of the EIC are the highest distinctions made by the Institute and are awarded to deserving members of its 12 constituent societies.

Four truly exceptional engineers will be presented with EIC's engineering medals at the 2020 Awards Gala ceremony in recognition of their outstanding achievements and service to the engineering profession. In addition, 22 engineers will be inducted as EIC Fellows for their exceptional contributions to engineering in Canada.

The EIC President, Reg Andres, will be presenting these awards at the Institute's Annual Gala/Banquet to be held at the Hilton Lac-Leamy hotel in Gatineau/Ottawa on Saturday 18 April 2020. Please reserve this important date! **We hope that you will join us** at the Gala to celebrate these truly outstanding engineers. Gala tickets are sold <u>online</u>. The 2020 award winners are:

JULIAN C. SMITH Medal (2 recipients)

For achievement in the development of Canada

Robert Boily, IEEE Cda *Ph.D.*, *C.Q.*, *FRSC* President, Inforex, Laval, QC

James Graham, CGS

Ph.D., *D.Sc.*, *FEIC*Professor Emeritus, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB

K.Y. LO Medal

For significant engineering contributions at the international level

Greg F. Naterer, CSME

Ph.D., *FEIC*, *FCAE*, *FCSME*Dean and Professor, Memorial University, St-John's, NL

JOHN B. STIRLING Medal

For leadership and distinguished service at the national level

Doug VanDine, CGS

M.Sc., *FEIC*, *FEC*, *FGC*, *P.Eng*. President, VanDine Geological Engineering, Victoria, BC

Being inducted as EIC Fellows (22 recipients)

For exceptional contributions to engineering in Canada

Suzelle Barrington, CSSE	Saint-Hyacinthe, QC
Michael Carter, IISE Cda	Toronto, ON
Chi Yung Chung, IEEE Cda	Saskatoon, SK
Michael F. Cunningham, CSChE	Kingston, ON
Mamdouh El-Badry, CSCE	Calgary, AB
Raafat El-Hacha, CSCE	Calgary, AB
Josephine Mary Hill, CSChE	Calgary, AB
Nazir P. Kherani, IEEE Cda	Toronto, ON
Cyril S. Leung, IEEE Cda	Vancouver, BC
Chandra A. Madramootoo, CSBE	Baie-d'Urfé, QC
John R. McDougall, CSSE	Edmonton, AB
Leonard M. Murray, CDA	Vancouver, BC
Ioan Nistor, CSCE	Ottawa, ON
Harry Oussoren, CGS	Guelph, ON
David Poirier, IISE Cda	Toronto, ON
Douglas Reeve, CSChE	Toronto, ON
Craig Simmons, CSME	Toronto, ON
Garry W. Stevenson, CGS	Vancouver, BC
Susan L. Tighe, CSCE	Waterloo, ON
Xianbin Wang, IEEE Cda	London, ON
Winnie Ye, IEEE Cda	Ottawa, ON
Fei Richard Yu, IEEE Cda	Ottawa, ON

For information or to purchase gala tickets, please visit EIC's web site.