

EIC Fellow

Kamran Behdinan

Nominated by the Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering

Professor Kamran Behdinan, of the University of Toronto, is a highly respected leader and innovator in engineering design and design education. He was the founding Chair of the Ryerson Department of Aerospace Engineering and the founding Director of the Ryerson Institute for Aerospace Design and Innovation. He has consecutively held the NSERC Engineering Design Chair at Ryerson University and the NSERC Chair in Multidisciplinary Engineering Design at U of T.

Professor Behdinan is the founding Director of the University of Toronto's Institute for Multidisciplinary Design and Innovation, an industry-centered project-based learning institute working in partnership with major aerospace and automotive companies to provide students with hands-on design experience. A leader in his professional community, Professor Behdinan served as President of CSME from 2010-2012 and is currently serving a second term as Chair of the CSME Design and Analysis Technical Committee.

Professor Behdinan is a Fellow of CSME and the Canadian Academy of Engineering, and an Associate Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. He recently received the 2015 C.N. Downing Award, recognizing distinguished service to CSME.

Ladies & gentlemen and Mr. President, please welcome Jonathan Beddoes as a Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada.