The Engineering Institute of Canada
Founded in 1887
Now a Federation of Twelve Canadian Engineering Societies

Governance: The Engineering Institute of Canada

National Council


The EIC Council is responsible for establishing the policies of the Institute and for its management. The Council consists of voting and non-voting members. The voting members of Council consist of the following officers and councillors: the president, the president-elect, the most immediate past president, the treasurer, and one councillor from each Member Society. The executive director of the Institute is an officer of the Institute and a non-voting member of Council and acts as its secretary. The voting members of Council are elected or appointed for terms as provided in the EIC By-Laws. No person can hold office or act as a councillor of the Institute unless that person is a member in good standing of one of the Member Societies. The chair of each standing committee of Council is a non-voting member of Council. Meetings of the Council are held usually three times per year in a designated place or through teleconferencing devices to be determined by the voting members provided that written notice of such meeting is given at least fourteen (14) days prior to the meeting.


The EIC National Council members are:


Richard Bathurst
EIC President
Civil Engineering Department
Royal Military College of Canada
Kingston, Ontario K7K 7B4
Tel: (613) 541-6000 ext 6479
bathurst-r@rmc.ca
Om Malik
EIC Immediate Past-President
Emeritus Professor
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Calgary
2500 University Drive North West
Calgary AB T2N 1N4
maliko@ucalgary.ca
Reg Andres
EIC President-Elect
Vice-President
RV Anderson Associates
400-2001 Sheppard Avenue East
Toronto, Ontario M2J 4Z8
Phone: (416) 497-8600
randres@rvanderson.com
John Plant
EIC Treasurer
1295 Hwy 2 E Kingston ON K7L 4V1
Phone: (613) 547-5989
jplant1@bell.net
Guy Gosselin
EIC Executive Director
Engineering Institute of Canada
P.O. Box 40140, Ottawa, ON K1V 0W8
Phone: (613) 796-4750
ggosselin.eic@gmail.com
See more...

Society Members, voting:


Chad LePoudre
President, Canadian Dam Association (CDA)
Vice-President, Geoenvironmental Services
SNC-Lavalin
216 1st Ave S, Saskatoon, SK S7K 1K3
Phone: (306) 668-6800
Email: President@cda.ca
www.imis100ca1.ca/cda
Doug VanDine
Immed. Past-President, Canadian Geotechnical Society (CGS)
c/o VanDine Geological Engineering Limited
267 Wildwood Avenue, Victoria, BC, V8S 3W2
Phone: 250 598 1028
Email: President@cgs.ca
www.cgs.ca
Martin Poulin
President, Canadian Medical and Biological Engineering Society (CMBES)
Manager, Biomedical Engineering - VIHA Vancouver Island Health Authority
Royal Jubilee Hospital Site
Victoria, BC
Phone: 250-370-8063
Email: Martin.Poulin@viha.ca
www.cmbes.ca
Peter Ozemoyah
President, Canadian Nuclear Society (CNS)
Division Manager, Business Services,
Tyne Engineering, Burlington, ON
Phone: 647-220-5115
Email: ozemoyah@cns-snc.ca OR pozemoyah@tyne-engineering.com
www.cns-snc.ca
Vijaya Raghavan
President, Canadian Society for Bioengineering (CSBE-SCGAB)
Graduate Program Director, Bioresource Engineering
McGill University
Phone: (514)398-8731
Email: vijaya.raghavan@mcgill.ca
www.csbe-scgab.ca
Jim Gilliland
President, Canadian Society for Civil Engineering (CSCE)
Regional Director, Williams Engineering
Phone: (403) 263-2393
Email: president@csce.ca
www.csce.ca
Santiago Faucher
President, Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering (CSChE)
Global Director, Technology Development
Hatch Ltd
Mississauga, ON
Phone: (905) 823-7091
Email: santiago.faucher@gmail.com
www.cheminst.ca/about/cic/csche
Aidan C. Gordon
President, Canadian Society for Engineering Management(CSEM)
General Manager, Gordon Crane & Hoist Inc.
Phone: (604) 324-2441
Email: aidan@gordoncrane.com
www.csem-scgi.ca
Sushanta Mitra
President, Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering (CSME)
Associate Vice-President Research
Lassonde School of Engineering
York University
Toronto, Ontario
Phone: (416) 736-5780
Email: mitras@yorku.ca
www.csme-scgm.ca
Ron Britton
President, Canadian Society of Senior Engineers (CSSE)
Professor Emeritus
Winnipeg, MB R3T 5V6
Phone: (204) 474-6059
Email: Ron.Britton@umanitoba.ca
http://seniorengineers.ca/csse/
Witold Kinsner
President, IEEE Canada
Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Phone: (204) 474-6490
Email: witold.kinsner@umanitoba.ca
www.ieee.ca/en/
Saeed Zolfaghari
Canada Region Vice-President, Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE)
Vice-Provost, Faculty Affairs, Ryerson University
350 Victoria Street, Toronto, ON, M5B 2K3
Phone: 416-979-5000 x5101
Email: zolfaghari@ryerson.ca
www.iienet2.org/Details.aspx?id=13558
Ex-officio, non-voting:
Chair, History and Archives Committee (H&A)
(Position Vacant)
Jean-Francois Legault
Chair, Honours, Awards & Fellowships Committee (HAF)
Director | Directeur
Emergency Management Projects | Projets – gestion des urgences
Public Safety Canada | Sécurité publique Canada
Phone: (819)956-4597
Email: jflegault@hotmail.com
John Grefford
Chair, Investments Advisory Committee (IAC)

Chair, Strategic Conference Planning Committee (SCP)
(Position Vacant)
Richard Gervais
Chair, Technical Professional Development Committee (TPDC)
Phone: (450) 461-0607 / Cell. (514) 771-6798
Email: richard.gervais@videotron.ca


Brochures: Maintaining Professional Competency


Today’s engineers and other professionals in the engineering sciences are aware that provincial regulatory bodies are presently examining the issues of life long learning, and the requirements for maintaid in terms of PDHs. Since the quality of participation is not standardized and cannot be rated the same as CEUs, relevant guidelines must be ionally and internationally, thus helping Canadian engineers to maintain their professional expertise and remain competitive in today’s marketplace.

See less...