The Engineering Institute of Canada
Founded in 1887
Now a Federation of Twelve Canadian Engineering Societies

Governance: The Engineering Institute of Canada

National Council


The EIC Council is responsible for establishing the policies of the Institute and for its management in accordance with EIC bylaws (download bilingual version).

The Council consists of voting and non-voting members. The voting members of Council consist of the following officers and councillors: the president, the president-elect, the most immediate past president, the treasurer, and one councillor from each EIC Member Society. The executive director of the Institute is an officer of the Institute and a non-voting member of Council (acting as its secretary). The voting members of Council are elected or appointed for terms as provided in the EIC By-Laws. No person can hold office or act as a councillor of the Institute unless that person is a member in good standing of one of the Member Societies. The chair of each standing committee of Council is a non-voting member of Council. Meetings of Council are held twice per year in a designated place or through teleconferencing devices to be determined by the voting members provided that written notice of such meeting is given at least fourteen (14) days prior to the meeting.


The current EIC National Council members are:


Richard Bathurst
EIC President
Civil Engineering Department
Royal Military College of Canada
Kingston, Ontario K7K 7B4
Tel: (613) 541-6000 ext 6479
bathurst-r@rmc.ca
Om Malik
EIC Immediate Past-President
Emeritus Professor
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Calgary
2500 University Drive North West
Calgary AB T2N 1N4
maliko@ucalgary.ca
Reg Andres
EIC President-Elect
Vice-President
RV Anderson Associates
400-2001 Sheppard Avenue East
Toronto, Ontario M2J 4Z8
Phone: (416) 497-8600
randres@rvanderson.com
Marius Paraschivoiu
EIC Treasurer
Professor, Concordia University
Phone: (514) 848-2424 ext 3147
marius.paraschivoiu@concordia.ca
Guy Gosselin
EIC Executive Director
Engineering Institute of Canada
P.O. Box 40140, Ottawa, ON K1V 0W8
Phone: (613) 796-4750
ggosselin.eic@gmail.com
See more...

Society Members, voting:


Chad LePoudre
President, Canadian Dam Association (CDA)
Vice-President, Geoenvironmental Services
SNC-Lavalin
216 1st Ave S, Saskatoon, SK S7K 1K3
Phone: (306) 668-6800
Email: President@cda.ca
www.cda.ca
Dharma Wijewickreme
President, Canadian Geotechnical Society (CGS)
Professor, Dept of Civil Engineering
Univ. of British Columbia
6250 Applied Science Lane, Vancouver BC V6T 1Z4
Phone: (604) 822-5112
Email: President@cgs.ca
www.cgs.ca
Martin Poulin
President, Canadian Medical and Biological Engineering Society (CMBES)
Manager, Biomedical Engineering - VIHA Vancouver Island Health Authority
Royal Jubilee Hospital Site
Victoria, BC
Phone: 250-370-8063
Email: Martin.Poulin@viha.ca
www.cmbes.ca
Peter Ozemoyah
Imm. Past-President, Canadian Nuclear Society (CNS)
Division Manager, Business Services,
Tyne Engineering, Burlington, ON
Phone: 647-220-5115
Email: ozemoyah@cns-snc.ca OR pozemoyah@tyne-engineering.com
www.cns-snc.ca
Vijaya Raghavan
President, Canadian Society for Bioengineering (CSBE-SCGAB)
Graduate Program Director, Bioresource Engineering
McGill University
Phone: (514)398-8731
Email: vijaya.raghavan@mcgill.ca
www.csbe-scgab.ca
Susan Tighe
President, Canadian Society for Civil Engineering (CSCE)
Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of Waterloo
Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext 33152
Email: president@csce.ca
www.csce.ca
Uttandaraman Sundararaj
President, Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering (CSChE)
Professor, Chemical & Petroleum Engineering
University of Calgary
Phone: (403) 210-6549
Email: u.sundararaj@ucalgary.ca
www.cheminst.ca/about/cic/csche
Aidan C. Gordon
President, Canadian Society for Engineering Management (CSEM)
General Manager, Gordon Crane & Hoist Inc.
Phone: (604) 324-2441
Email: aidan@gordoncrane.com
www.csem-scgi.ca
Sushanta Mitra
President, Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering (CSME)
Associate Vice-President, Research
Lassonde School of Engineering
York University
Toronto, Ontario
Phone: (416) 736-5780
Email: mitras@yorku.ca
www.csme-scgm.ca
Shawna Argue
President, Canadian Society of Senior Engineers (CSSE)
Director of Education and Governance
Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Saskatchewan
Regina, SK
Phone: (306) 525-9547
Email: sargue@apegs.ca
http://seniorengineers.ca/csse/
Witold Kinsner
President, IEEE Canada
Professor, Dept of Electrical & Computer Engineering
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Phone: (204) 474-6490
Email: witold.kinsner@umanitoba.ca
www.ieee.ca/en/
Howard Huang
Canada Region Vice-President, Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE)
Richmond, ON
Phone: (416) 399-0026
Email: huang2803@gmail.com
www.iienet2.org/Details.aspx?id=13558
Ex-officio, non-voting:
Chair, History and Archives Committee (H&A)
(Position Vacant)
Jean-Francois Legault
Chair, Honours, Awards & Fellowships Committee (HAF)
Director | Directeur
Emergency Management Projects | Projets – gestion des urgences
Public Safety Canada | Sécurité publique Canada
Phone: (819)956-4597
Email: jflegault@hotmail.com
John Grefford
Chair, Investments Advisory Committee (IAC)
Ottawa, ON
grefford@gmail.com
Reg Andres
Chair, Strategic Conference Planning Committee (SCP)
Toronto, Ontario M2J 4Z8
Phone: (416) 497-8600
randres@rvanderson.com
Richard Gervais
Chair, Technical Professional Development Committee (TPDC)
St-Bruno QC
Phone: (450) 461-0607 / Cell. (514) 771-6798
Email: richard.gervais@videotron.ca
See less...